MOW – 2020 FOCUS

I have been on this journey with My One Word for a decade now. I started back in 2010; the last 10 years of words: Healthy, Inspire, Move, Embrace, Cherish, Action, Patience, Ignite, Restore, and Balance. Some years have been better than others, but I have worked to stay true to the word that found me for the year. As 2019 started to wind down I was feeling a bit stressed out that My One Word for 2020 had not found me. I thought I had found a word, but that was the problem, I found the word. You see, My One Word finds me, I don’t find it. I was reading someone’s tweet and My One Word found me. It was almost like a face plant of “Duh, here I am!”. 

While creating the graphic for FOCUS I realized that focus and 2020 are really a pretty bad pun on one another. Yet, it really does mean more to me than that. Through the last 10 years I have worked to RESTORE (2018) myself, I did EMBRACE (2013) what was happening in my life, and I have worked to CHERISH (2014) what is going on around me yet, I really haven’t set a true FOCUS on myself. I’m beginning to realize that through self-love, acceptance, and honesty for myself I can and will be better for everyone in my life as well. 

As always I want to connect the meaning of My One Word to a verse in the Bible and use a literal definition to help with the direction the year may go. I’m not always able to find a Bible verse with the exact word, yet one that has a connection of meaning. The connection is through Proverbs 4:25 “Let your eyes look straight ahead; fix your gaze directly before you.”, while the definition is an intransitive verb form “to concentrate attention or effort”. 

Here’s to a new year, a new decade, and a new FOCUS on life! Happy 2020 everyone, may you find what you need in the coming year.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar